Man, its been a while!

4 May

Hello there,

Here goes my 3rd attempt at this blog. I will try try try to be more consistent. Since my last post about 5 months ago….EKKK!! Some things have changes.

My last post I was reading Skinny Bitch, and since then I have implemented a Vegan diet! The change wasn’t that big of a deal for me.  I never ate much red meat or chicken/ turkey anyway. I switched out meat for tofu, beans and nuts. I bought faux cheese, for pizza and almond milk, smoothies and cereal, agave nectar for sweetening and coconut oil for baking.

My recipe box is getting full of  great vegan recipes that are delicious, filling and satisfying. I really enjoy this life style!

I have also been doing a lot of vegan web browsing. I have come across some interesting/ informative/ helpful sites:

http://www.vegan.org/ great for vegan basics, resources, tips on eating out and egg alternatives. (Basically anything and everything you would want to know about Veganism.)

http://www.peta.org/accidentallyVegan/ this site lists all the common foods that are considered vegan. (You don’t necessarily have to go to a specialty store to find vegan products!)

http://www.happycow.net/ great vegetarian/ vegan restaurant guide

http://www.savvyvegetarian.com/ more great recipes

And now for the biggest news since my last post:

I got a puppy!!!!

Meet Neo, my Papillion puppy! He is four months old and fabulous! We got him from a farm that breeds this little guy.

P-O Double and I had been looking for a dog for a while. We had joint custody with my parents of their dog Freddie, but we wanted one of our own. We had looked at endless pet store, shelters, and online sites, But I never got that feeling that you are suppose to get when you pick out a dog. When we got Freddie I had a gut instinct of, “OMG that’s my dog!” I just hadn’t felt that yet to take plunge into getting a dog of our own.

To be honest, I wasn’t really ready for a puppy. I liked to look at them, and play with them at the pet store, but I wasn’t sure if I was ready for the responsibility, and the time and energy that goes into a puppy. It’s scary being responsible for anther life! But P-O double had his mind set. Relationships are all about compromise right? He found Neo online and then next day we were at the farm. I told him if I didn’t get that “OMG this is my dog” feeling, I wouldn’t be able to go through with it.

After an hour car ride, we arrived at the farm. There was a woman on the front steps holding the most adorable little puppy ever. Immediately I said, “OMG that’s my dog!” Less then ½ later, I was in the back seat of the car covered with pee and puke. Yup, we go that little puppy.

Neo's car ride home

I think getting a puppy was a great thing for us. It was VERY difficult the first few weeks, but he is getting much better. He is hilarious, and very playful. He learned tricks very quickly but is still having some difficulty with potty training.

I am so happy to have this new member of our family, he is growing so fast I don’t want to  miss out on a minute of his puppiness. I swear, every day he is a little bigger!

Leave a Reply

