Happy Cinco de Mayo!

5 May

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

I love Cinco de Mayo! It says summer is coming! Time for a Margarita!

But really, what the heck is Cinco de Mayo? It’s in Spanish, so what does it have to do with us? Well, I couldn’t formulate a good answer on my own, so I did one of my favorite things, I googled it. According to Wikipedia, in Mexico, this date signifies the victory of a battle against the French in the 1800’s, but since has become a symbol celebrating Mexican culture. I though this holiday would be bigger in Mexico then in the USA, but according to the site, Cinco de Mayo is more significant in the US. Since the USA is a melting pot of cultures, it is like St. Patrick’s Day or Chinese New Year, to celebrate and accolade a culture that is very much present in our country.

I like that all these celebratory days are centered around great food and drink!

St. Patrick’s Day for the Corn beefed Cabbage (not the beef just the cabbage, carrots and corn bread;)- oh yeah, and beer of course!
Chinese New Year for yummy stir fries and fresh Mia Tais
Independents Day for the grilled corn and fresh fruit
Cinco de Mayo for the chips, salsa, guacamole, beans, hot peppers, and Margaritas!

This year’s Cinco de Mayo is pretty low-key. Since it Wednesday, and Wednesdays consisted of me and Neo hanging out, I’m making my favorite simple go-to Mexican dish. Homemade chips with beans, pepper and onion.

I learned how to make these homemade chips from Sam the Cooking Guy on Fit TV. Cut wanton wrappers into triangular 8th, spray a pan with cooking spray and lay chips out flat. Spray again with cooking spray and sprinkle with salt. Let cook for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees, or until chips are golden brown. ( I actually ran out so I cut up a pita to  go along  with it.)

For the topping I sautéed some onions, pepper and beans.

To finish the dish off I sprinkled so Fake Cheese on top!

( I think I need a better camera. My pictures are so not hot.)

No Margarita tonight though! I limit my drinking to the weekend so I’m giving my self a free pass for a margarita this weekend!

(This is actually a pretty weak Cinco de Mayo. I didn’t have any avocados to make guac, and I am out of my dad’s world-famous Paradise Island Salsa. Oh well….)

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Leave a Reply

