Treadmill v Hitting the Road

17 May

Do you find it easier running on a treadmill or outside?

I don’t know if there is a “scientific” different between the two, but my body defiantly moves better on a treadmill. Maybe it’s because the treadmill helps propel me forward? There is no moving floor outside, so the only thing making me move is me! I have never noticed a difference until recently. I use to run all the time, both outside and on the treadmill. I could go for long runs outside and never feel weak or unable to finish, oe I would run on the treadmill and be able to challenge my self with hills and speed. I cut way back on running for a while and am trying to get back into it. Running on the treadmill seems so much easier! Especially if I warm up on the step master (it gets my legs nice and loose!) Today, my outside run seemed to take f-o-r-e-v-e-r, (f-O-r-E-v-E-r- said as the kid in the Sandlot) and I had no motivation or energy to motor it up a hill or sprint between telephone poles, or race the traffic (one of my favourites!)  I hope my body will adjust to running outside soon!

On another note,

Tonight’s dinner was absolutely FABOULUS! My goal has been to try one new fruit or vegetable each week. A few weeks ago it was kale, this week it was parsnips, and tonight I prepared both using amazing recipes from the blog world.  Kale Crisps have been all over the place, I just had to try them, and Angela from Oh She Glows has raved about these parsnip fries, so I figured I’d give it a go.

My taste buds are so happy!!!

I love learning new recipes!!

For the Kale Crisp:

  • 5 heads of Kale- washed and ripped into bite size pieces (removing the center stem)
  • Spray oil
  • Salt
  • Minced garlic flakes
  • Onion Powder

Heat oven to 350,Line a cookie sheet with tinfoil and spread the Kale out flat, spray with oil and sprinkle salt, garlic, and onion powder, bake 10minute or until crispy.

And for the Parsnip Fries:

  • 5 parsnips (pealed and cut into fries)
  • 2 1/2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ tsp salt

Heat oven to 400, line a cookie sheet tinfoil, mix peanut butter, oil and salt, then add parsnips and toss around until coated with the mixture. Spread them out on the pan and bake for 40 minutes, and then enjoy a little bit ‘o’ heaven!

(I made a double batch to have some for tomorrow 🙂 )


Leave a Reply

