Yucca Fries

27 May

So it only took me about a week to finally use the Yucca. Let me explain, the past few days have been ridiculously hot! We are on the 3rd floor of a 3 family house aka we live in the attic! Our thermostat goes to 90 degrees; it was hotter than that. That’s all I know. I lugged an old school AC up the 3 floors hoping for some relief, but it only cooled our bedroom to about 80F. Well, that better than 90+ right? So basically, my dinners have consisted of smoothies and ice water the past few days.

But tonight, the Veggie of the week was cooked: Yucca, Yucca fries!

I paired the fries with Chips, Kale chips. (Sounds like it’s a wicked “bad-for-you” dinner, but the fries are yucca and the chips are Kale!)

The Kale was fab as usual. The Yucca was surprising. When I was cutting it up, it seemed a little milky. I couldn’t picture how it could turn into fries. The final product was actually pretty good. They tasted like a mix between tortilla chips and french fries (I know! Weird combo, but that’s really what they taste like)

Overall, they are good, a little bland, but nothing a little more salt and oil can’t fix. My only complaint is there is kind of a strange after taste. Not bad, just different. It taste like it smells.

I will def try these again, and trick Pat into thinking they are home made french fries;)

Here’s how I made them:

I set the oven at 400, peeled and cut the yucca into fries, sprayed a pan, placed the yucca on the pan, sprayed again with olive oil spray, and sprinkled with salt.

I cooked them for about 20 minutes, flipped, then another 10-15 minutes.

Let cool for a few minutes and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

